Piety Of Imam Hasan & Husain (a.s)


Thrice, Imam Hasan (a.s) gave up all his wealth in charity and twice he gave away half his wealth. Like his father, he also spent his life with the bare necessities. But his food spread was very wide. He used to have different kinds of dishes prepared for the guests, but himself ate only barley bread with vinegar or salt. His cloak was patched in many places. The narrator says, “One day I came to Imam Hasan (a.s) during his rule and found him sitting on a tattered sack. Seeing me, he had a sheet spread over it. I saw that it was patched at many places and it was of a very coarse material. I said, ‘O Amir’ul-Mu’minin, you are sitting on a sack. How is it possible for me to step on this blessed sheet?’ He said, ‘O Abu Salih, take a seat.’ I sat down following the command of Imam (a.s) then said, ‘O Son of the Messenger of Allah, you are the ruler, is there not even as much share in the kingdom that you can purchase a sheet for personal use?’ Hearing this, the Imam became angry and said, ‘Abu Salih, we Ahl ul-Bayt were not created for a comfortable life. We are created to provide comfort to others and to safeguard their rights. This sheet fulfills all my needs that an expensive one would do. Then what is the need for me to purchase a new sheet? O Abu Salih, would it not be better if I spend the same money on the poor and deprived people?’ Hearing this I said, ‘Amir’ul-Mu’minin, you are right. The fact is that, except for the Ahl ul-Bayt no one deserves this position.’”

 Piety Of Imam Husain (a.s)

Imam Husain (a.s) also spent a simple and austere life like his father and maternal grandfather. He was never fond of expensive clothes or tasty foods. He used to give away all that he received to the poor and destitute. One day received an amount from the public treasury. He kept it before himself waiting for needy people to arrive so that he can distribute it among them. Someone said, “O Son of the Messenger, your cloak is patched at many places, why don’t you take some money from this amount and buy a new cloak?” He said, “This is sufficient for me.” Very often people sent him gifts and presents, but he gave them all away to the orphans, the widows and poor people.

5 Responses to “Piety Of Imam Hasan & Husain (a.s)”

  1. Extended Stay Apartments Says:

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info specially the last part🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  2. http://mati-marketing.ru/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&u=322822 Says:

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful information particularly the last part🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  3. 3ds Says:

    Well, I do not know if that�s going to work for me, but definitely worked for you!🙂 Excellent post!

  4. Antone Slot Says:

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme. With thanks

  5. Arthur Brownell Says:

    It’s remarkable to pay a visit this website and reading the views of all friends about this paragraph, while I am also eager of getting familiarity.|


Leave a Reply

