If you fail to plan, you can plan to fail


“If you fail to plan, you can plan to fail,” says I.

“We don’t have time to plan, we have to get started,” says he.

“Started on what?” says I.

“Started on the work,” says he.

“Which work?” says I.

“There’s a whole bunch of stuff we know we have to do,” says he.

“But with your lean and mean organization, you have more work than resources. Which stuff should they work on today?” says I.

“That’s OK. It all has to get done. Start whatever we can,” says he.

“But isn’t there some stuff that can’t be finished without other stuff,” says I.

“That’s OK, it can still get started. If not, people will be sitting idle. Can’t have that,” says he.

“But it’ll sit half-done, waiting for inputs that may not match what was done, probably leading to rework,” says I.

“That’s OK. We know how to be flexible. We have to be in this business,” says he.

“But rework will add time and effort,” says I.

“That’s OK. There’s always overtime if we need it,” says he.

“But even with OT, with all the false starts, un-clear goals, and people jumping willy-nilly from task to task, don’t you risk being late against your promises?” says I.

“That’s OK. We’re used to being late. That’s why we always have a fallback plan to deliver less that the full original promise,” says he.

“Plan?” says I. “Doh . . .” says I, Homeresquely, with the heel of my hand thumping my forehead..

Think about it . . .

Isn’t managing an organization to accomplish a strategy in support of a goal something worth planning? What’s your plan? What’s your strategy? What’s your goal?

One Response to “If you fail to plan, you can plan to fail”

  1. Rolando Wymore Says:

    After I initially commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get 4 emails with the same comment. Is there any manner you may take away me from that service? Thanks!


Leave a Reply

