Recognition of God


Man’s turning to God during times of calamities is a sign of our inclinations to Godliness. Man gets involved with his position and status so much that he forgets about God. He gets fully entangled in his sins and disobedience. Once a calamity befalls upon man, he suddenly remembers God and turns to Him for help. Thus, we realize that this sense of Godliness is intrinsic in humans, but man’s involvement in worldly affairs results in his forgetting God.

There is a well-known tradition that states that a man went to see Imam Sadiq (MGB) and expressed his amazement about the recognition of God.

 He said: “I have discussed this issue with many knowledgeable people, but they have not been able to help me.” Imam Sadiq (MGB) ended his amazement using his intrinsic human Godliness and asked him:

“Have you ever been aboard a ship?” 

The man said: “Yes.”

Then Imam Sadiq (MGB) asked: “Have you ever been on a sinking ship, and reached out for a narrow piece of board to stay afloat?”

The man said: “Yes. I have.”

Then Imam Sadiq (MGB) said: “Then while you could not see any dry land or anyone there to save you, were you not really attracted to some power to rescue you?”

The man replied in the positive and was finally relieved of his amazement about God’s recognition.”[1]


[1] Al-Shafi, v.1, p.40.

 

 

6 Responses to “Recognition of God”

  1. atlanta facelift Says:

    seriously, wow we are diffrent.

  2. Loretta Tagliavia Says:

    This site is amazing make money shortening your links!! http://adf.ly/X8Wd

  3. Canastillas Bebe Says:

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  4. shelf companies Says:

    hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise several technical points using this web site, since I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

  5. Jenell Laulu Says:

    Hey there, You have done an incredible job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m confident they will be benefited from this website.

  6. velonismos Says:

    I was examining some of your posts on this internet site and I think this site is rattling instructive! Keep on putting up.


Leave a Reply

