‘Ali (a.s.) and the Discourteous Trader


Imam ‘Ali (a.s.), during his Caliphate (Ruler-ship), would often undertake tours to survey the markets and advise and guide the traders there. 

One day, while passing through the date market, he noticed that a small girl was weeping. Imam asked her the reasonfor her tears at which she explained: “My master had given me a dirham to purchase some dates. I purchased them from this trader here, but when I returnedhome, my master did not approve of them. Now I wish to return them but the trader refuses to take them back.” 

Imam ‘Ali (a.s.), turned to the trader and said to him, “This child is a slave-girl and has no authority of her own. Take back the dates and return her money to her.” The trader stepped forward and, in full view of the other traders and onlookers, struck the Imam (a.s.) on the chest in an attempt to shove him away from the front of his shop. 

The people who were witnessing the incident, rushed forward and said to the man:“What do you think you are doing?

This is ‘Ali Ibn Abi Talib (a.s.)!” 

The trader’s face went pale as he stood flabbergasted. He immediately took the dates from the girl and handed back the money to her. 

Then, turning to the Imam (a.s.), he implored, “O’ Amirul Mu’mineen! Be pleased with me and forgive me.”

The Imam (a.s.) replied, “I shall only be pleased with you when you change your behaviour for the better and pay close attention to morals and courtesy.”  

Daastaan-ha Wa Pand-ha, vol. 1, pg. 46; Bihar al-Anwar, vol. 9, pg. 519. 

5 Responses to “‘Ali (a.s.) and the Discourteous Trader”

  1. free blu ray ripper Says:

    It”s really cute but I wouldn”t pay that much for it. Especially if it”s as hard to get the phone i n and out of (as it looks).Unfortunately with an unlocked phone, the cariers don”t give you a better plan. So basically this means loosing the subsidies…For me, all it needs is a dropbox style folder sync, so i can auto backup stuff. Unless its possible and i just dont know it?!Unfortunately with an unlocked phone, the cariers don”t give you a better plan. So basically this means loosing the subsidies…For me, all it needs is a dropbox style folder sync, so i can auto backup stuff. Unless its possible and i just dont know it?!What do u mean dont tell Rene u can”t spell. None of you guys can spell here at TIPB. You guys always mess up on ur blogs man.

  2. page six Says:

    thought about including extra graphics to the weblog posts in order to keep the readers more interested? What i mean is that I simply learn by this entire article right here and i must it was quite delightful but in view of the fact that I’m primarily a graphic sort of learner, I discovered that in order to be even more functional in effect let me know the way it looks! I like the stuff that you guys are constantly getting up to. This is most definitely clever work and reporting! Please keep up the great work – I’ve linked to you to my own site.

  3. glasses for reading Says:

    Hello there. I discovered your blog by way of Google whilst looking for a similar matter, your website got here up. It seems great. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks to visit later.

  4. abiti da sposa romantici 2012 Says:

    You have a very good blog. For a long time looking for something so wonderful.

  5. visit the site Says:

    I have been surfing the web more than 4 hours today, and this is the best article I’ve come across. I’m a content fiend so I’ve actually read a lot already.Personally I think, if all site owners and bloggers made as awesome content as youhave, the net would bea lot more useful than ever before.


Leave a Reply

