CHOOSING A WIFE


Seeing that his mother was in a good mood, Ahmad sat near her and
said, ‘Mother, I have an idea which should bring you much joy.” His mother
answered eagerly, “My son, all that you give me makes me happy. What is on
your mind?”

“You know,” he told her,
“I have finished my studies and can afford to begin a family. I have
decided to marry.”

His mother’s face brightened with
a smile. “This is very good news! I have long awaited such a day,” she
told him. “How often I have wished you would marry one of your cousins.
Praise be to Allah that you have made this decision before it is too
late!.” Ahmad exclaimed, “Before it’s too late? What do you
mean?” “Your cousin Maryam is now old enough to marry. Every day
there is someone visiting her home, seeking her hand.”

Ahmad sat silently for a moment
and said, “Then why should we bother her suitors?”

“What do you mean, Ahmad?,”
asked his mother, dismayed.

“My cousin Maryam is not fit
for me.”

“Why not? No, my son, you’re
mistaken. I shall go and see about your engagement tomorrow,” his mother
told him.

Ahmad frowned and said, “No,
mother. Please do not do such a thing. I will not agree to this.” “When
she becomes your fiancé, you will feel love for her. Put aside your fears.
Maryam is beautiful, and she has a respectable job.”

Ahmad disagreed, “No. This matter
only concerns me.”

Ahmad’s mother thought for a
moment and said, “If you dislike Maryam, then there’s my brother’s daughter.
She is as beautiful as Maryam, and she has inherited a large sum of money from
my brother.

“Mother, please think about
this matter from my point of view. I need someone to share my life, not a
business partner.”

His mother became angry and
sharply asked, “What’s wrong with my niece? Why isn’t she good enough to be your
wife?”

Ahmad replied, “She is not a
practicing Muslim. I want a Muslim wife.”

Ahmad’s mother laughed
sarcastically and said, “You speak as if you were an angel who could only
marry another angel. Why don’t you stop saying such nonsense, my son? You are
an educated young man, you should give up your impossible ideals.”

“I am neither an angel, nor do I
seek a saint for a wife. I am a Muslim believer looking for a girl who also
believes in Islam.” replied Ahmad.

Ahmad’s mother told him, “I don’t
know any girls who share your ideals.”

He said, “I know someone who
measures up to my expectations. ”

Startled by this admission,
Ahmad’s mother asked, “You know someone? Who is she? Since when do you begin
friendship with girls?”

Ahmad answered quickly, “I didn’t
mean that I know a girl personally, but I know of her.” ” I
see,” she said. “You have already chosen your wife. Who is this lucky
girl?” “Mother, please be more understanding. I hope you will take my side
and persuade father to agree with my choice.”

This appeal to Ahmad’s mother
softened her, and she said, “I swear that I think only of your welfare. I’ll
help you. Tell me, what are this girl ‘s qualifications?”

Ahmad told her, “Nothing matters
except the religious aspect. She is Muslim, and wears complete hijab.”
“Oh, then she is uneducated!” “No, she has a high school
education and her religious knowledge is extensive.”

Then his mother asked, “What
family is she from? Do I know them?”

“She is from a good family
known for their piety”, Ahmad told her. “Of what use is a well-known
family if a girl has no Islamic morals?” He silently beseeched Allah to
give him the patience to overcome his mother’s resistance. “A happy
marriage doesn’t depend on fame or wealth. Happiness stems from spiritual
nearness and mutual understanding.” Then, in a different tone of voice his
mother asked,

“What does her father do for
a living?” “He is a grocer,” Ahmad replied.

“A grocer?!”, she
exclaimed. “Yes. He is a grocer and a very righteous man. He is the head of a
happy and virtuous family.”

Ahmad’s mother interrupted him,
“You are the son of a wealthy man; with your college degree you wish to marry a
grocer’s daughter? What a shame! Yet you ask me to assist you! If I had chosen
the daughter of a jeweler, how would you feel?”

His mother replied, “There is
a big difference between a jeweler and a grocer.”

“The only difference is with
regard to the substance. The former sells rings and the latter sells sugar.
Both work in order to earn money,” Ahmad answered.

His mother lamented, “Imagine
your father’s reaction to this news! ”

Ahmad said firmly, ” This is
my desire, either you help me or I’ll do it myself.”

He spoke so seriously that his
mother laughed mockingly, saying, “Does the matter require a great effort?
The least move you make, they will give their daughter to you gladly.”

Ahmad shook his head in doubt and
said, “Wait and see!”

“What an odd situation this is! Am
I to present my son to a grocer’s daughter? What special beauty does this girl
possess to make you blind to every other consideration?

“I have not yet seen her,” Ahmad said.

“Then how do you know she’s not ugly?” asked his mother.

“I know she is not. As far as
good conduct is concerned, physical beauty is of little importance.”

“Oh Ahmad, my amazement never ceases.”

The next morning, Ahmad told his
father of his intentions. His father became angry, but Ahmad remained
determined to marry the woman of his choice. Finally his father agreed and
Ahmad asked his mother to visit the girl’s home to make the proposal and
overcome any obstacles.

The following afternoon Ahmad’s
mother, accompanied by his oldest sister, went to the girl’s house. On the way
there, Ahmad’s sister asked her mother what the girl’s name was. Her mother
replied, ” I forgot to ask him! “When they knocked on the family’s
door, they were surprised to see a beautiful young girl open it. The girl was
surprised to see the two unfamiliar women, but she showed them into the living
room and went to tell her mother that they had visitors. Her mother welcomed
the guests and waited for them to explain the reason for their visit. After
exchanging greetings, Ahmad’s mother asked who the young girl was who had
opened the door. “It was my daughter, Zaynab,” she replied. “Do you
have any other daughter?” asked Ahmad’s mother. “No, she’s my only
daughter”, replied her mother. Ahmad’s mother and sister were delighted to
learn that the beautiful girl was Zaynab. Just then, Zaynab entered with coffee
for their visitors. She sat next to Ahmad’s sister and they soon found much to
discuss. Then she collected the empty coffee cups and left the room.

Ahmad’s mother began, “We
have come with a blessed aim. We would be happy to have your daughter Zaynab as
a wife for my son.” She praised her son for his intelligence, his good
looks and his wealth, but she neglected to mention his firm Islamic beliefs,
which was very important to Zaynab’s mother. Therefore, Ahmad’s mother was
stunned when Zaynab’s mother shook her head slowly and said, “I’m very sorry.
It is difficult for me to agree to this proposal; in fact, it’s
impossible.” With much surprise, Ahmad’s mother asked, “What is
impossible?”

“My daughter is still young. I’m
sure your son can find a girl who suits him.” Ahmad’s mother protested,
“But Zaynab suits him well! Would you be kind enough to justify your
refusal?”

“I only have one daughter, and I
should be sure of her future married life.”

“But Ahmad is well-off financially,”
said his mother. “He is an engineer!”

Zaynab’s mother replied, “Zaynab
would not marry someone because he is wealthy or has a college degree.”

Ahmad’s mother was at a loss for
words. “Then what will ensure your daughter’s happiness and consent?”

“When a mother looks for a wife
for her son, she should mention her son’s conduct.” said the mother of Zaynab.
“My daughter is a committed Muslim. She wants a Muslim husband, and
remember, my daughter wears hijab, and your son may want a modern wife, who dresses
like his mother and sister.”

Ahmad’s mother laughed with relief
and told her, “You’re correct. I haven’t mentioned his conduct. I thought that
other aspects of his character were of more importance. My son is a faithful
Muslim. He is, in fact, looking for a wife who observes hijab. Be sure that my
appearance (un-Islamic clothing) is not to Ahmad’s taste.”

Zaynab’s mother also smiled and
said, “You should have told me earlier! Please give us your address so we
can visit you and learn more about your son.”

“We hope you can come early
next week,” said Ahmad’s mother.

Ahmad was waiting anxiously for
his mother’s return.

As soon as she and her daughter
returned home he asked “Well, mother? How was your visit?”

“It was very strange,”
she replied.

“What was strange?”, he
asked. “Has anything bad happened?”

“Oh no, Ahmad. But I never
expected such a thing,” she answered. “Then they have refused?”
Ahmad’s father said, “How could a grocer’s daughter refuse a wealthy young
man?”

Ahmad’s mother turned to her
husband and said, ” They did, in fact, refuse…”

“What! they refused?” asked
the father. “I spoke about Ahmad’s good qualities, but I didn’t mention
his Islamic morals. My appearance also caused her to decline my proposal
because her daughter is a very faithful Muslim. When I realized their
objections, I told them that you are a true Muslim as well. I have come to
respect them very much. They don’t care about status or wealth.”

“Have you seen the girl?”, asked
Ahmad’s father.

“Yes, she is lovely and
polite. Ahmad is a lucky man to have made such a choice.”

The following week, Zaynab’s
family paid a visit to Ahmad’s home and plans were made for the upcoming
wedding. They were soon married and there was much rejoicing.

 

57 Responses to “CHOOSING A WIFE”

  1. leslie Says:

    Whta a beautiful love story..i like it..

    • kashieca Says:

      yeah,yeah right!!! i truly agree with that!!!!
      hope there’s really a man like that, in now a days~~🙂

  2. sathish Says:

    its totally bad, i suppose religion wont build up two hearts- even i am a hindu , if i like a muslim girl (with good charecter) surelly i will marry. please dont protest this thing personally or religeiously —-its my personal view (if you find some thing wrong please forgive me)

    • YK Says:

      But I believe islam does build love a love u can only dream of, not just some fairy tale love but true love and respect for one another.

      • shukri adan Says:

        very true

  3. moralsandethics Says:

    Hi Staish,
    First of all I would like to thank you for posting your point of view.

    Moral of the story & the point overe here is that for choosing a spouse more important is the moral conduct. As far as good conduct is concerned, physical beauty is of little importance.

    “A happy marriage doesn’t depend on fame or wealth or religion. Happiness stems from spiritual nearness and mutual understanding.”

    Happines only continues if both are having the similar expectation from each other.

    Here as Ahmad himself is a practising muslim he searching a practical muslim women as a wife who practices an islamic belief & laws

    I Hope its clears to you. Keep posting comments.

    MoralsandEthics

  4. Syed Rizvi Says:

    Salam, My personal experience was pretty bad. The girl I was involved in, wore hijab and she was very Islamic in her attitude and character apparently. She told her father about me and then her father started an email communication with me. I wanted to talk him and meet him personally but he did not. He rejected after two emails without telling any proper reason. His attitude destroyed two lives. I loved her most and she loved me very much as well. But let me mention that her father is wealthier than us and believes on his own kind of Islam. You know some people think that they are the only one who knows more than anyone. He is like that. Then he convinced her daughter that you cannot live with a guy who has only bachelors education while I employ people with masters degree in my company. What would people say? Then I was not making too much money, that was another concern and top of that I was living in Pakistan and he wanted his daughter to be in Canada. So wealth was his intention to achieve. He did what materialistic people do. This is parents responsibility to to see and meet that girl/boy personally, in which their children are interested to marry. Because not doing so could end up in wrong information and perception of others which would lead to destruction and killing of personalities. Thanks

  5. dayana Says:

    assalamualaikum wbt,

    subhanaAllah, such a great story..may Allah reward and bless you for sharing it.
    on the other hand, i find it crazy, that there are people who care too much about wealth and status in this life…na’udhubillah. i have personally heard stories like the one above…only pray to Allah that their hearts may open and they be led to the right path.

    i hope you don’t mind, but i’ve linked this inspiring story to my site…and one more of jihad of the inner self🙂 once again, jazakallahu khair for sharing🙂 ma’assalama, wassalam.

    • N.Fazil Says:

      salaam,my name is fazil, wondered seeing your comments and your name. However proud to be a muslim.may god bless you and every truth speakers. Ameen

  6. paula Says:

    Its nice teaches us to show our religion first not our wealth but our heart..

  7. ishrath Says:

    i agree with the story,,n recommend..and jazakallah hair

  8. Dheshila Says:

    Firstly i congrats the author, for prescribing a pleasant story about a guy choosing a girl and getting permitted/permission with family members. It doesn’t matter, what the religion, caste. The story completely diminishes an elsewhere example and motivated with the good moral.

  9. chat Says:

    religion should not affect someone’s love to someone. if two hearts with different religion found love and happiness, religion should not forbid them to be together. no one and nothing should control us to do what we desire as long as our motives are pure and for the good cause.

  10. Skai Says:

    Thank you so much 4 this story. i will keep it in mind wile searching for the love i have lost.

  11. luannguyen Says:

    im a nonreligious man but i also highly appreciate good conduct and morals!happiness depends on what u expect and suppose.

  12. ServantOfAllah Says:

    Salam Alikom everyone,

    This story was very nice. I wish my mother could be more understanding, even though she is not an unbeliever, it makes it worse. My father is a ‘so-called muslim’ while I am strong in my islamic belief, only recently started practicing Islam, alhamdilllah. I asked Allah for a man with a firm religious faith, morals and a good father inshallah for children. Within a month, I met someone who exactly suited my questions in my preyer. Actually, he was more than that. Alhamdillah, he is a lovely, very very good muslim and has taught me alot, without him I wouldnt be the muslim i am today, alhamdillah.

    Although, my mother (again, like the above story) only sees materialistic and outward appearance, not morals, religon or heart. She met him though was not impressed (even though he was so polite and had bought her a lovely presents she until now…its been 2 years (doesnt like him.) Actually she criticises a lot and says that if i marry him my children will be ugly! (he is not ugly at all though anyway!) she feels that i need a prince with millions in the bank to suit me (ofcourse many mothers want this ideal – i wouldn’t for my daughter…) but it has come to a point where I have just had enough.

    She doesnt understand and I have told her time and time again that marriage doesnt depend upon looks, wealth or even…educational status! (ofcourse you need money to be supported) but I would rather marry a poor farmer with a heart of gold and a wealth of islamic faith, then a rich engineer who doesn’t believe at all, neglects his preys and his faith etc, because afterall this life is short and Allah (swt) is going to judge us upon our decisions etc. Since I grew up without a faith (mother and father not teaching me anything) I grew up confused and faithless, forced to serve the society’s mainstream social life of clubs and british culture ‘drinking’ etc…Staghfualllah, i dont want that for my children, ever! That’s why my husband number one must have a good faith and morals=)

    Thank you all

    • MoralsandEthics Says:

      May Allah accept your prayers and guide your parents too…

  13. Abid Says:

    Very good story loved and steish you are wrong. the way i see it it isnt all about wealth and fame its just about who you are. plz comment if i am wrong

    • AYE Says:

      your right stashia is a gay fag your right muslim brother

  14. Layale Says:

    Amazing its just amazing it’s funny how these days the children are growing up with more imman than the older people, subhanallah.

    I was just curious what happens if the right guy comes along with deen and imman but youre just not comfortable him.Does the almighty punish you for refusing him?? as the prophet pbuh said “those who come with deen and aklak (good conduct) then he is a suitor.
    I ask that you all may help me as it is occurring to someone very dear to me

  15. ranjit Says:

    hmmmmmmmm it was a good and touching story but would it be made a film or it is gonna mee whos gonna make it a film

  16. islamicnet Says:

    religion should not affect someone’s love to someone. if two hearts with different religion found love and happiness, religion should not forbid them to be together. no one and nothing should control us to do what we desire as long as our motives are pure and for the good cause.

  17. islamicnet Says:

    Moral of the story & the point overe here is that for choosing a spouse more important is the moral conduct. As far as good conduct is concerned, physical beauty is of little importance.

  18. Rehana Says:

    Very nice story.. I truly believe in Islam but my parents are not allowing me to convert

    • zuhairi Says:

      you must think carefully and do a best results…

    • AYE Says:

      WELL… CONVERT IF YOU WANT TO SAY ASHADU AN LAILLAH ILLAHU WAS HADU AN MUHAMMED RAULLAHA AND B00M YOUR MUSLIM BUT DONT FORGOT TO PRAY AND STUFF

  19. cristine hazel yvonne dargo Says:

    to good love it

  20. Rani Says:

    i like this story very much.i hope its ture story…………

  21. israr ahmad Says:

    nice story.but why the rich people teach their children the same moral values as a grocer can do?

  22. sab Says:

    it was lovely to have it.i likerdv the story but i want to say one thing that these days therev are no one in young generation weho thinks like that it is quite rare.but i must apptriciate this story

  23. sab Says:

    i want to say one thing that these days therev are no one in young generation weho thinks like that it is quite rare these days.

  24. Asma Says:

    I think now a days we made our life so miserable and mess when come into getting marriage matters. Sometimes parents make lame excuses for not accepting their children choices or other side children not take these matters more wisely.🙂

  25. k.selvi Says:

    I LIKE THIS STORY NICE. THIS IS A TRUE STORY.

  26. J.R.NEHA SURANA Says:

    ITS TOTALY BAD IN THIS AGE ITSELF NO NEED TO TALK ABOUT MARRIAGE THAT TOO 7th STD………:(

    VERY BAD
    VERY BAD ………………………………………….😦 😦 😦 😦

  27. THEVA MANOHARAM PALANISAMY Says:

    This is a wonderful story with moral values implicated. I reckon that religious knowledge and practice is important in life and at the same time there shouldn’t be any obstacle when a couple from two different religions plan to marry. It has been my observation that the Muslims in my country (Malaysia) are too strict to allow a person from a different religion to marry them.
    During my Teachers Training College days in the late seventies, a pretty young Malay lass (Muslim) whose parents were doctors fell for for my good character and looks (during my younger days I looked like Rajesh Khanna – now I am over the hills! Still not bad for an old man.)
    This particular Muslim girl was so intimate with me and we even acted in many English dramas at inter college level and won many prizes as the best actor and actress award from the Malaysian Ministry of Education. One fine day, she revealed her desire to marry me. I was astounded to be blessed with such a bundle of curve. I told her that I am a Hindu and that it is impossible for me to marry her, although I too liked and adored her so much.
    She was very concerned over my life. She took personal interest in my life. She used to sow my torn clothes and even openly sews my buttons in college. She used to travel in my motorcycle to the nearby town and we do watch cinemas regularly. Some movies that we saw together were like Aag Gaale Laag Jaa, Bobby, Kathi Patang, Ek Phool Sapnoyi, Aandazz, Sangaam and not forgetting an English movie entitled THE DEEP, acted by Jacqueline Bisset.
    We both cared for one another for nearly two years, but fate separated us due to religion. She was a modern Muslim without ‘tudung’ (hijab) and I was a modern Hindu. Although we both were modern, we both had our principles, she wanted to die as a Muslim and likewise I wanted to die as a Hindu. We both believed that we should be proud of our own religion and shouldn’t be a ‘murtad’ to the religion we belong.
    As such, we both were in a dilemma – TO BE OR NOT TO BE. I felt that it is unfair for her (being the only child from a very rich family) to forsake her family and marry me. Likewise, she felt that it was improper for me to leave my own religion and forsake my family which relied on me to be a role model. My late father who was a teacher died in a car accident at the age of forty leaving behind a young pretty wife of only thirty (my mum) with ten young children. Eldest brother was sixteen and youngest was just two. My mother nurtured us and put us through school and we all wanted to prove to my mum that we are all responsible children.
    Many of our relations disappeared from the sight when my father passed away. Everyone thought that we will be down the gutters very soon. Despite of thorns and hills in our path, we all succeeded in life. Now, I am a lecturer and nearly completing my Ph.D in Education. I am married to a Hindu lady and GOD has blessed us with five successful children. I have a cute grandson too, named Sidarth.
    Despite of all the success and greatness in my life, I still feel the pain and sorrow of not being with my Fauziah Hanim. Yes, that beautiful name still makes my heartbeat go sky-high. Wherever you are my dearest Muslim honey, I will pray to ALLAH for your safety, happiness, health and whatever you could desire from ALLAH. I have not forgotten all the Islamic books like Siratul Mustaqeem, Daqaiqul Akhbar, Qishasus Al’ Anbiya and other books that you have given me to read those days. Honey, religion brought us to two separate paths. This reminds me of an old poem by Robert Frost entitled – THE ROAD NOT TAKEN. My darling Fauziah, I decided to take the road leading away from you and that has made all the difference in my life. Now that I am old, I do sit and wonder how my LIFE would have been if only I had CONVERTED TO A MUSLIM and married you. May be, my family would have disowned me. I wanted to be an exemplary figure to my younger brothers and sisters. As such, I had to give up on you.
    Now after thirty three years down the lane, I still can remember vividly every single incident that we went through Fauziah – We had joy, we had fun, we had seasons in the sun, but the hills that we climbed are seasons out of sun. My dearest Fauziah, I pray to the Almighty that we meet up in heaven. My Muslim brothers and sisters, what have got to say about my plight in Malaysia. Do you think that inter-marriage should be allowed freely without any conversion of religion? Please provide positive ideas that could make this world a better world beyond the boundaries of religion. Please, forgive me if I have hurt anyone in expressing my feelings. Amin Ya Rabbal’ Alameen. Wassalam. (Fauziah dear, you taught me this)

  28. THEVA MANOHARAM PALANISAMY Says:

    Assalammualaikum my brethrens. This is a wonderful story with moral values implicated. I reckon that religious knowledge and practice is important in life and at the same time there shouldn’t be any obstacle when a couple from two different religions plan to marry. It has been my observation that the Muslims in my country (Malaysia) are too strict and rigid to allow a person from a different religion to marry them.
    During my Teachers Training College days in the late seventies, a pretty young Malay lass (Muslim) whose parents were doctors fell for for my good character and of course looks (during my younger days I looked like Rajesh Khanna – now I am over the hills! Still not bad for an old man.)
    This particular Muslim girl was so intimate with me and we used to act in many English dramas at inter college level and won many prizes as the best actor and actress award from the Malaysian Ministry of Education. One fine day, she revealed her desire to marry me. I was astounded to be blessed with such a beautiful bundle of curve. I told her that I am a Hindu and that it is impossible for me to marry her, although I too liked and adored her very much.
    She was very concerned over my well being and welfare. She took personal interest in my life. She used to sew my torn clothes and even openly sews my buttons in college in the classroom. She used to travel in my NORTON motorcycle to the nearby town and quite often watched cinemas. Some movies that we saw together were like Aag Gaale Laag Jaa, Bobby, Kathi Patang, Ek Phool Sapnoyi, Aandazz, Sangaam and not forgetting an English movie entitled THE DEEP, acted by Jacqueline Bisset.
    We both cared for one another for nearly two years, but fate separated us due to religion different religious belief. She was a modern Muslim without ‘tudung’ (hijab) and I was a modern Hindu. Although we both were modern, we both had our principles, she wanted to die as a Muslim and likewise I wanted to die as a Hindu. We both believed that we should be proud of our own religion and shouldn’t be a ‘murtad’ to the religion we belong.
    As such, we both were in a dilemma – TO BE OR NOT TO BE. TO MARRY OR NOT TO MARRY. I felt that it was unfair for her (being the only child from a very rich family) to forsake her family and marry me. Likewise, she felt that it was improper for me to leave my own religion and forsake my family which relied mostly on me to be a role model, since I was the first from my family as well as from my village to enter a higher institution of education. Everyone came to me for advise, whenever I went back to my hometown called Bukit Rotan. My late father who was a teacher died of a car accident at a very young age of forty leaving behind a young pretty wife of only thirty (my mum) with ten young children. Eldest brother was sixteen then and youngest was just one plus. Still drinking milk. My mother nurtured us and put us through school and we all wanted to prove to my mum that we are all responsible children.
    Many of our relations disappeared from our sight when my father passed away suddenly. They thought that we will be down the gutters very soon. Despite of thorns and hills in our path, we all succeeded in life with the grace of ALLAH. Now, I am a lecturer and nearly completing my Ph.D in Education. I am married to a Hindu lady and ALLAH has blessed us with five successful children. My eldest daughter Roshini (a muslim name which means NUR in Sanskrit) is a teacher who is married to a gynecologist and I have a cute grandson too, named Sidarth (Buddhist name).
    Despite of all the success and greatness in my life, I still feel the pain and sorrow of not being with my Fauziah Hanim. Yes, that beautiful name still makes my heartbeat go sky-high. Wherever you are my dearest Muslim honey, I will pray to ALLAH for your safety, happiness, health and whatever you could desire from ALLAH. I have not forgotten all the Islamic ‘kitabs’ like Siratul Mustaqeem, Daqaiqul Akhbar, Qishasus Al’ Anbiya and other books that you have given me to read during our courting days. Honey, religion brought us to two separate ways. This reminds me of an old poem by Robert Frost entitled – THE ROAD NOT TAKEN. My darling Fauziah, I decided to take the road leading away from you and that has made all the difference in my life. Now that I am old, I do sit and wonder how my LIFE would have been if only I had CONVERTED TO A MUSLIM and married you. May be, my family would have disowned me, but there could have been other better things as mentioned in the principles of ‘qada’ and ‘qadar’. I had to sail away from you because I always wanted to be an exemplary figure to my siblings. As such, I had to give up a nice caring and wonderful lass like you.
    Now after thirty three years down the lane, I still can remember vividly every single incident that we went through my Fauziah darling – We had joy, we had fun, we had seasons in the sun, but the hills that we climbed are seasons out of sun. My dearest Fauziah, I pray to the Almighty that we meet up in heaven.
    I always wanted to walk together with my long lost Fauziah. Fauziah dear, in the words of Albert Camus (The Outsider) which we read together during our college days, “Fauziah, I do not wish to walk ahead of you for I am afraid that I might leave you behind. Neither do I wish you to walk ahead of me for I am afraid that you might leave me behind. So, why not we both walk side by side for we walk through this path, but ONCE.” We were fated to walk on separate paths. Now, where are you my dear? My heart is still aching in agony. My Muslim darling, I always told you in the words of William Shakespeare, that to love and to be loved is the greatest happiness in existence. Where did we go wrong? My answer is our religious differences. My dear friends, can religion hamper once mutual relationship? My Muslim brothers and sisters, what have you all as sincere followers of Islam, got to say about my plight in Malaysia. Do you think that inter-marriage should be practiced freely without any conversion of religion? Please provide positive ideas that could make this world a better world beyond the boundaries of religion. Please, forgive me if I have hurt anyone in expressing my feelings. Amin Ya Rabbal’ Alameen. Wassalam. (Fauziah dear, you taught me this)

  29. shaz Says:

    THEVA MANOHARAM PALANISAMY it is forbidden in Islam for a muslim woman to marry a man who belongs to any other religion

  30. naved Says:

    assalamoalaiqum,
    the story is realy nice, i do belive that deendari should be considered 1st for selecting bride or groom.if we follow the teachings of our preofet all things in our lives will go easier.

  31. Anne Hakim Says:

    Salam, thank you for the lovely story. I just wanted to let everyone know that inshallah in allahs eyes i am a religious muslim. i do pray but i dont wear a hijab. i have met and seen so called muslims that wear hijabs but arent practicing muslims. just because im not covered doesnt mean im not worthy or below those that do. You cant assume just because a girl is not covered, shes not religious. It doesn’t come from the outside, it’s from the inside. Im sick of guys who refuse to marry a girl just because shes not covered. Anyone can act like they are religious as I got tricked by my ex-husband. He read the quran in front of me and talked about how im doing everything wrong. Then I found out when I was trying to get a divorce that he was planning on (he is Syrian and Im Australian) lying about me taking his money and put me in jail just so he can get money from my family. He wanted money from the start. I also found out when he did agree to divorce me that he doesn’t know how to read Arabic. He couldn’t write down that he agrees to divorce me. All those times he opened the quran in front of me, he was pretending. Inshallah allah will forgive him. Everyone please stop thinking that if your not covered, or don’t pray, or fast, or read the quran does not mean your not religious. Only Allah truly knows us from the inside.

  32. Canastillas Bebe Says:

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  33. portal triad Says:

    And here is the brand-new Portal 2… Download and install it below: http://www.easy-share.com/1914756939/Portal.2.Loader-GANJA.rar

  34. Janene Carmicheal Says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays..

  35. vinutha Says:

    really its to bad story yar , ek muslim ladke bhi mujko tin sal se pyaar kartha tha aur maine bhi jab ho muj se pyaar kartha tha tub use religion ka parwha nahi tha magar jub shadhi ka batha hayi , he dont want to marry , bcos only reason his i am Hindu

  36. Rabbi Allen S. Maller Says:

    A Jewish version of finding a good wife:

    Finding Your Soulmate
    By Rabbi Allen S Maller

    When you grow up you will try to find the best person for you to marry. But how will know who is the best person for you? Some people believe that God matches two souls in heaven before they are born. All you have to do is find your soulmate. But you have to go to the right places to find each other.

    Once there was a boy whose soul mate was a beautiful Jewish princess who lived in the same town. She was a friend of his cousin and he would have met her at his cousin’s Bat Mitsvah but he didn’t go. He didn’t go to the Bat Mitsvah because his team was in the soccer playoffs and he went to play soccer instead of going to the synagogue.

    Two years later he would have met her at a Jewish camp she went to, but he didn’t because he told his parents he preferred going to a sports camp.

    He almost met her four years after that when he was invited to go to a Jewish youth group dance at a nearby college. At the last moment however, he decided to go with some friends to a bar. He did meet a beautiful girl at the bar and they did like each other for a few months but then she left him for someone else that she liked better.

    Years passed by and he couldn’t find his soulmate. He did meet lots of women but things never worked out. He felt sad and lonely. He felt he had missed out. He didn’t know why he couldn’t find his soulmate.

    Then one day his cousin, the one whose Bat Mitsvah he hadn’t attended because we wanted to play in the soccer playoffs, told him about her friend. His cousin thought this friend would be a good person for him.

    He called her and they started dating. They liked each other from the very beginning. After dating for two years they decided to get married. After they were married he would always tell his wonderful Jewish princess that she was his soulmate.

    He only wished that he had met her years before at his cousin’s Bat Mitsvah. “Then we would have married earlier and I would have been a happily married man for 4 or 5 extra years.” “But you would not have been in the soccer playoffs.” she said.

    “I don’t care” he said, “anyway we lost .”

  37. ayeesha nasreen Says:

    assalam wa alaikum it is rare to see parent in ths world seeing the mutual understanding and spiritual nearness before choosing their children allaiance..,maximum all of them are money minded..,allah made them realise..,marraige is not for false prestige and pride
    my parent did ths i lost my dear..,allah only question thm

  38. Ammar Gooden Says:

    i just look at love as getting along with yur woman/man and yur woman/man has to look pleasing to yur eye

  39. Maryum Says:

    Aslamualikum! nice story… but it usually happens in stories. Atleast my personal experience is not good. If My parents want me to marry a person with steady income, a big house, luxuries etc then they will not think about understanding, happiness, love or anything like that.Unfortunately the thing which matters is Status😦

  40. Bessie Seminario Says:

    Yo, I’m seriously glad I have located this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossip and internet stuff and this is often actually annoying. An effective website with interesting information, this is what I want. Thanks for making this web-site, and I will be browsing all over again. Is the next step news letters? I Can’t identify it.

  41. uzma Says:

    nice…….. story

  42. irvine interior design Says:

    Hey! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my good old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  43. vikas Says:

    had hota hai chatne ka bhi yaar !!

  44. Shajeeya Khaliq Says:

    nice………story <3<3

  45. asma Says:

    It was a really amazing story and i hope they make more stories like this and i completely agree with ranjit they should make a movie out of this i give 10 out of 10

  46. ashish Says:

    very long & boring story

  47. Vzey Says:

    total waste of tym my 10 min wasted studying dis story….. watz de moral…. a son is trying to go against family for a girl …
    he knows his family since his birth n trying to leave if they not accept his proposal for a girl ….

  48. baby Says:

    really very bore story my 5-10mins wasted in readng this story…. VERY BORING STORY….;-)

  49. nilofer hanif Says:

    i need a man just like the one in the story (ahmad)…i am proud to be a muslim and i whole heartedly believe in ALLAH….and most importantly i wear hijab…


Leave a Reply

