The Cobbler’s Hajj…


It is related that a noted Muslim scholar Abdullah bin Mubarak, had a dream while he was sleeping near the Kaaba.

Abdullah bin Mubarak saw two angels’ descend from the sky, and start talking to each other. 

One of the angels asked the other: “Do you know how many people have come for Hajj this year?” 

The other angel replied: “Six hundred thousand have come for Hajj.” 

Abdullah bin Mubarak had also gone for Hajj that year. 

The first angel asked: “How many people’s Hajj has been accepted?” 

The second replied: “I wonder if anyone’s Hajj has been accepted at all.” 

Abdullah bin Mubarak was grieved to hear that. He thought, “So many people have come from all over the world, crossing so many obstacles like rivers, jungles, mountains, suffered so many hardships, and meeting so many expenses. Would their effort be wasted? Allah does not let anyone’s effort go to waste”. 

He had thought only so far when he heard the other angel speak: “There is a cobbler in Damascus. His name is Ali bin al-Mufiq. He could not come for Hajj, but Allah has accepted his intention of Hajj. Not only will he get the reward for Hajj, but because of him, all the Hajjis will be rewarded. 

When Abdullah bin Mubarak woke up, he decided he would go to Damascus and meet that cobbler whose Hajj intentions carried such a lot of weight. 

On reaching Damascus, Abdullah bin Mubarak inquired if anyone knew a cobbler named Ali bin al-Mufiq. The town people directed him to a house. When a man appeared from the house Abdullah bin Mubarak greeted him and asked his name. The man replied “Ali bin al-Mufiq”.

Abdullah bin Mubarak asked: “What do you do for a living?”

Ali replied: “I am a cobbler”. Then Ali asked the stranger’s name that had come looking for him. 

Abdullah bin Mubarak was a very well-known scholar of Islam, when Abdullah bin
Mubarak introduced him self, the cobbler was anxious to find out why such a well known scholar was seeking him out. 

When Abdullah bin Mubarak asked Ali to tell him if he had made any plans to go for Hajj. Ali replied “For thirty years I have lived in the hope of performing the Hajj. This year I had saved enough to go for Hajj, but Allah did not will it, so I couldn’t make my intention translate into action. 

Abdullah bin Mubarak was eager to find out how could this man’s Hajj be accepted and blessed for all the people who went for Hajj that year when he didn’t go for Hajj in the first place. While talking to the cobbler he could feel a certain purity in his heart. Islam regards greatness not in wealth or in power, but in civility, in good manners and the goodness of heart.

Abdullah bin Mubarak further asked: “why could you not go on Hajj?”. In order not to disclose the reason, Ali again replied “it was Allah’s will”.

When Abdullah bin Mubarak persisted, Ali revealed: “Once I went to see my neighbour’s house. His family was just sitting down for dinner. Although I was not hungry I thought my neighbour would invite me to sit down for dinner out of courtesy but I could see that my neighbour was grieved about something and wanted to avoid inviting me for dinner.

After some hesitation the neighbour told me: “I am sorry I cannot invite you for food. We were without food for three days and I could not bear to see the pain of hunger of my children. I went out looking for food today and found a dead donkey. In my desperation I cut out some meat from the dead animal, and brought it home so that my wife could cook this meat. It is halal (lawful or permitted) for us because of our extreme condition of hunger, but I cannot offer it to you.” 

Ali continued: “On hearing this, my heart bled with tears. I got up and went home, collected the three thousand dinars I had saved for Hajj, and gave my neighbour the money. I too had to go hungry but that was to save money for Hajj, but I thought helping my neighbour during his difficult times was more important. Although I still desire to go for Hajj if Allah wills.”

Abdullah bin Mubarak was greatly inspired by the cobbler’s story and told the cobbler of his dream.

God is merciful and shows mercy to those who do likewise to his creatures. This act of compassion on the part of the cobbler was so pleasing to God that it not only earned him the reward of Hajj but was extended to all the people who came for Hajj.

Hajj is a journey that can ignite the soul to be reminded of the time it was created and takes it beyond the dimensions of this life to the time it will meet the creator.

The sincere performance of Hajj can transcend a person’s day to day life into a spiritual awakening of the highest magnitude. A successful Hajj experience connects us to our creator and the greater compassion of humanity.

16 Responses to “The Cobbler’s Hajj…”

  1. ummabdurrahman Says:

    Mash’Allah, nice story. Beneficial in all that is written.🙂

  2. mahveen fatima Says:

    very moving story…may each coming day bring truth n purity in our hearts…ameen

  3. ameena Says:

    Really a nice story!!!!!!!!!!

    “SubhanAllah !”

  4. Yeh masail e Tasawuf « Farooqsoomro's Blog Says:

    […] about people crushed by poverty in Karachi. I read this story about a cobbler who let go his hajj because his neighbor needed that money. Do they teach such moral stories in […]

  5. http://www.startaid.com/viewurl.php?link=http://scottwoods718.bravejournal.com&username=scottwoods718&urlid=14864750 Says:

    Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful information particularly the last part🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  6. Heike Macrowski Says:

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  7. Canastillas Bebe Says:

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!

  8. cartoon characters alphabetical Says:

    Appreciation for making the effort to talk about this here, I need to to understand more on this topic. If possible, as you achieve competence, would you object to updating the weblog with additional content? It truly is awfully valuable for me.

  9. tintas hp Says:

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  10. what is the best tv Says:

    hey there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something brand new from right here. I did however expertise several technical issues using this website, as I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your situation in google and could damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out 4 much more of your respective intriguing content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

  11. new property Says:

    hey there & thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this web site, since I experienced to reload the website a lot of times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if advertising and marketing with yahoo. Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

  12. LVN Programs In California Says:

    hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up something completely new from right here. I did however expertise some technical points using this site, since I experienced to reload the site many times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will very frequently impact your positioning in google and can damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective exciting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon..

  13. why do toddlers hit Says:

    Outstanding story there. What occurred after? Thanks!

  14. The Best Beat Making Software Says:

    This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.
    ..HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what
    you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  15. Leif Says:

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I
    provide credit and sources back to your website? My website is in the
    exact same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly
    benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Regards!

  16. winrar password remover Says:

    As mentioned earlier, if you have accidentally formatted
    your drive and lost important files because of
    this, the first thing that should be done is to rescue the
    files using the finest recovery software. Why choose RAR Password Unlocker to retrieve
    rar password. If this program is not registered yet, you may now evaluate the
    efficiency of this application with some functional restrictions.


Leave a Reply

