Conceit-II


Disadvantages of Conceit

Conceit causes selfishness and vanity, which are the causes of people’s detestation and humiliation. It turns one’s eyes away from noticing his own defects. The conceited forgets his sins and causes himself many damages, since negligence of sins stops against repentance to God and exposes to His wrath.

Treatment of Conceit
Because conceit and arrogance are of the same origin, though they differ in trend, their treatment is the same. It is important for the self-conceited to realize that all virtues that arouse in himself conceit are the graces of God that He grants to whom He wills. Hence, He should be shown gratitude for them.

In the field of avoiding self-conceit, it is related that one of the righteous people, once, left his house after midnight for visiting one of the holy shrines and offering the rites there. In his way, he was controlled by conceit and thought that he was in his way for offering rites of worship in such a cold hour while others were enjoying warmth and sleep in their houses. Meanwhile, he saw one of the hawkers who was selling round rape. He pushed himself towards him and asked how much he would earn from that job. ‘Two or three dirhams,’ said the hawker. The man then thought with himself, ‘Why should I be so conceited? The value of my sleepless and wandering in such an hour is only two or three dirhams.’

6 Responses to “Conceit-II”

  1. alloy wheel repair glasgow Says:

    I admire what you have done here. I love the part where you say you are doing this to give back but I would assume by all the comments that is working for you as well. Do you have any more info on this?

  2. http://community.freshbooks.com/forums/profile.php?section=personality&id=68493 Says:

    Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  3. Roselee Slawski Says:

    My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  4. Cristobal Fensel Says:

    I loved this blog I discovered it on yahoo outstanding advice. Domain name check

  5. android Says:

    Very good blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Many thanks!

  6. Segla grekland Says:

    Really great site, thanks so much for writing this awesome article.


Leave a Reply

